Traveler seeking help in regards to suicidal thoughts - can anyone lend a hand?

I am a student from the U.S., spending my university gap year in Iceland. It'd been a dream of mine to come here, and I feel absolutely honored and blessed to be able to be here.

That said, however, I've still been struggling a lot with depression and downright stubborn thoughts of suicide. This has been an ongoing issue for me for a long time, but it has definitely surfaced badly this year, and though it frustrates me to think of my dream being impaired by these thoughts, I recognize that they are serious, and they need addressing. I do not want to have my adoration for this place impaired for a deep-seated dislike of myself.

Currently, I'm feeling a little trapped every day, because during a bit of a crisis moment, I was looking for a suicide hotline to call in Iceland... and discovered there isn't really a hotline listed anywhere. I Googled, and dug about, with no results, and I don't really know what to do. Befrienders Worldwide was recommended to me by a friend, but they have exactly 0 listings for Iceland.

I am frightened of what I am capable of in these moments of panic, but I also know that just being able to talk about it really helps me. I want to be straightforward, and I'm coming to the Internet for help because I feel like I don't have a lot of options here.

TL;DR: Is there anyone, anywhere, who knows where I can find help for this in Iceland? Even if it's not in the form of a suicide hotline, any help would be appreciated.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Hi Radar,

I can understand your concerns and have been trying to find some resource for you to contact in Iceland.

There are two that may be able to help you there.