How to persuade parents to study abroad?

I am turning fifteen in twelve days and i have been thinking about studying abroad in south Korea. i am a freshman this year i don't know if id be in a different grade over there. i am really interested in south Korea since some of my family is from there and are currently living there. Also i am part Korean! I have been researching some high school exchange programs online and i have found one called youth for understanding. A lot of teens have exchanged through that program and i really want to try doing a year or semester/trimester in south korea, but my problem is my parents! My dad is a tough one. He'd never think of me going to another country for so long and alone to add! My mom is a bit better, but i still have a long way to go before persuading her and i really need some tips. I also want to help them pay for some fees (i.e. toiletries, application fees, etc.) or find a cheaper exchange program/apply and get a scholarship. Please help! also if i get to go study abroad how will i understand the teacher if they only speak Korean? I will be learning Korean plus the few words i know but how will earn good grades and good credits? Could any help? if you need more details 'id be happy to answers any questions but just someone help! (by the way i have watching "sheytowherever" and "whyhellokorea" 's channels and videos on youtube.)

Update:

btw i tried talking to her recently and she said if it wasn't for the money she really wouldn't mind me going. can anyone help me by persuading her even with the cost?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I cant help with the whole question, bu i can help with trying to persuade your mum.