promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Fabian asked in SportsFootball (American) · 7 years ago

Any age restrictions for NCAA college rowing? (NCAA eligibility confusions)?

OK so im pretty confused about NCAA eligibilty, concerning age regulations / limitations:

Im 22 now, will be 23 in April. I live in Lucerne, Switzerland. I have been rowing for my city's rowing club for four years, now I'm getting good and am looking for a way to take my training and competing to the next level. I thing joining a strong US college rowing team would be a good way to achieve this.

I have been researching NCAA regulations, however I am still not sure if I qualify to row in the US collegiate system, age wise:

- In general the opinion seems to be that you have five years of NCAA eligibilty, four years to compete plus one red shirt year, which start as soon as you register as a full time student at your college

- BUT there are also people saying that your egligibility clock starts one year after finishing high school and that you can only compete in college athletics until youre 24 (--> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ir76wv9w_a8

Youtube thumbnail

)

SO: Which one is true? Are there any age restrictions for NCAA college athletics, especially D1 rowing? Could I still row in the US collegiate system?

Thanks a lot!

Oh yeah forgot I graduaded from swiss high schol in 2010

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I would recommend that you talk to someone at the school that deals with eligibility issues.. They would have your academic records at hand and could make the appropriate determination in your eligibility... Good luck.....

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 7 years ago

I am not sure of the exact answer, but I do not believe there are any age restrictions for NCAA college athletics. International requirements may be different.