What is the significance of these terms during the Cold War, WWII, and hipster era?

I have a test im studying for in History class in college. The review asks me to define the following terms during the Cold War, wwii, and hipster (beatniks) eras and explain its context and significance.

Gray Flannel Suits

"Arsenal of Democracy"

Second Front

World Bank

NSC-68

Atomic Diplomacy

George Kennan

The Atlantic Charter

Great East Asia

Military Keynesianism

"Howl"

IMF

China Lobby

McCarthyism

NATO

Mohammad Mossadegh

Margaret Chase Smith

Elizabeth Gurley-Flynn

Please explain as many as you can, even just a few would be most helpful!!

Thanks!!

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Best Answer

Gray Flannel Suits - the "Establishment"

"Arsenal of Democracy" - US role in helping the UK with arms in WWII

Atomic Diplomacy - "I can wipe you out even worse than you can me!"

Great East Asia - The "Greater East Asia Co-prosperity Sphere" was Japan's name for their desired Empire at the start if WWII.

"Howl" - a book by Alan Ginsburg widely read by "beatniks".

China Lobby - The lobbyists for Nationalist China.

McCarthyism - Corrupt Wisconsin senator who crusaded against (imaginary) Communists under every rug

NATO - North Atlantic Treaty Organization: Western European nations + US in a mutual defense organization (against the USSR).

Mohammad Mossadegh - leftist politician in Iran assassinated by the CIA

Margaret Chase Smith - first(?) women senator in the US

Elizabeth Gurley-Flynn - publisher(?) of Cosmopolitan magazine with a (sort of ) feminist viewpoint

• 3 years ago