Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentLaw & Ethics · 8 years ago

What states is assisted suicide legal in?

What states is assisted suicide legal in?

10 points for best answer.

I dont want any of your religious crap or opinions on why I shouldn't want to die.

I want a simple logical answer.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Kenny
    Lv 5
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    Currently, 34 STATES have statutes explicitly criminalizing assisted suicide :

    Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Wisconsin

    NINE states criminalize assisted suicide through common law:

    Alabama, Idaho, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nevada, South Carolina, Vermont, West Virginia

    THREE states have abolished the common law of crimes and do not have statutes criminalizing assisted suicide :

    North Carolina, Utah, Wyoming

    In Ohio, that state's supreme court ruled in October 1996 that assisted suicide is not a crime.

    In Virginia, there is no real clear case law on assisted suicide , nor is there is a statute criminalizing the act, although there is a statute which imposes civil sanctions on persons assisting in a suicide.

    Only the states of Oregon and Washington permit physician-assisted suicide.

  • 8 years ago

    none, there are plenty of laws that you can be charged without any others being enacted.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.