Reserves vs National Guard -> ROTC?

So to clarify my 'title' I graduated from my high school in January 2013, and I have already decided on a college (been accepted) and that I will be in their ROTC program. For all intents and purposes this is in the state of Ohio (I know some state funding rules are different and such...) anyways..

The recruiter I talked to at my college mentioned going into the National Guard while I'm in ROTC, SMP (I think is what the program is called). He mentioned I would get federal and state funding. And he preferred I would sign up when I came to college instead of a local recruiter so I would not have to find a way to drive 4 hours (my college is 4 hours from home) for drills every other weekend (I think it's every other weekend; however, I could be wrong). Now I know about the 'sign up' bonus all recruiters get which I could care less about, I realize some recruiters are more worried about themselves than I. But I met with this guy and I actually enjoyed talking to him, seemed like a human being to me. He talked to both parents, aunt and uncle.

Now, I recently had a phone conversation with a local recruiter who wanted to talk to me about the reserves. When I told him I already had a plan, he seemed a bit distraught. He immediately told me flat out the reserves is better than the National Guard. He said I ONLY get state funding with the Guard. I have scheduled to meet with the local recruiter Tuesday. I know better than to sign anything and I still prefer Guard but I would like to educate myself about the reserves also. Just want to know all options and be as informed as possible.

Now your turn to tell me what you know about either. Every bit of information is vital and greatly appreciated.

Quick note. School is primary for me. I am going for engineering (probably electrical) and then would like to serve post college, 4-6 years active. That is my plan.

Thanks in advance guys/gals.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • dan h
    Lv 7