Bommah
Lv 4
Bommah asked in Games & RecreationCard Games · 8 years ago

MTG: Death's Presence question?

So I have on the field a 1/1 creature with 2 +1/+1 counters on it, one death's presence. If the creature dies, do I put 3 +1/+1 counters on another creature, or just 1 counter? I would have thought the previous +1/+1 counters would have contributed to it's power when it dies, but my friend thinks otherwise.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Peter
    Lv 7
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    The counters count towards the ability, you will be able to put 3 counters on another creature. If it meant the original P/T, then it would say so.

    Source(s): MTG Judge and longtime player.
  • 8 years ago

    Death's Presence uses the Power of the creature at the time that it dies, which includes all modifications to its Power. This allows the +1/+1 Counters from Death's Presence to essentially snowball from one creature to another (unless the target of the Counters from Death's Presence dies before the Counters are applied).

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.