Should I read Les Miserables?

I usually try to plan ahead when it comes to summer activities, so I am trying to get together what I want to do with the summer of this year, 2013. I just saw Les Miserables (2012) and I absolutely loved it. It is now one of my favorite movies. I really want to read the book because of how much I enjoyed the movie. I know it is very long but is it worth it? And is it easy to understand? Which translation is the best in your opinion?

Reading that book would not take up my entire summer. Sticking with the theme of Les Miserables and everything French, I also might plan to study French over the summer. I am currently a year 4 Spanish student and have some desire to learn another language as well.

My AP History teacher is really informed on the French Revolution and she has recently been doing some partial lectures on it, relating it back to events taking place in America at the time. The topic really interests me and I would really enjoy researching it along with reading Les Miserables and trying to learn some French also.

How beneficial would it be for me to try to do all of these this summer? I am only asking now so I can start buying books now. Thank you for your time.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

My dear...........first of all, let me state that Jon here is completely wrong and has no idea what he's talking about.

The original book, Les Miserables, was written by Victor Hugo, in 5 seperate parts.......in French.

Most English adaptions, are essentially all 5 of those books, rolled into one, to tell the WHOLE story, from start to finish.