Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

T asked in Science & MathematicsAgriculture · 8 years ago

Do I need to have an environmental engineering degree to get into urban farming?

I've been working for years within the tv business but I'd like to get involved in something else I enjoy which is urban farming. I have a communications degree but I'm wondering if I need to get another degree in environmental engineering. Is there another way of getting a career in urban farming that doesn't necessarily involve going back to school? At this point I simply can't afford to go back. However, I'm more than willing to put in the effort into getting into urban farming but after having had a career for so long I want to make sure I maximize all the ways I can learn urban farming without having to have the degree.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

No you do not need and environmental engineering degree to be an urban farmer.

What you need to do is to volunteer on an Urban farm for a season to see if you even like the job. Most people have romantic notions about farming but after a week or two of actually working outdoors in all weather doing a lot of back breaking mind numbingly boring jobs most people find another line of work.

If you feel you must go back to school to get a degree to do Urban farming I would suggest agriculture/horticulture or botany as you will be working mostly with plants and animals. marketing would be another handy talent as half of what urban farmers do is market their crops direct to the public and they do a lot of education about food and farming.

• 8 years ago