Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Could I get into a good college like UCLA or Berkeley?

Hey guys, so right now I'm a freshman in highschool and my weighted GPA is a 4.28 and unweighted is a 3.9. I have the max amount of honors classes and just got one B+ in English Honors, an A in World Geo Honors, A in Bio, A in Alg 2/Trig, A in French, and A in Tennis. I have after school activities like tennis, and I have a rigorous orchestra program which is famous in our area. I have played piano for 8 years and have gotten a couple honorary mentions (I didn't win, but they gave me a prize and money for playing well). I have done art lessons for about 7 years and have entered into contests and gotten a few prizes for that as well. I'm a junior varsity player for our tennis team as well. I am really interested in becoming a doctor, so I really want to get into a good school. I have about 8 periods, and basically stay at school everyday till like 6 P.M. Am I good enough to get into a competitive school like UCLA or Berkeley? THANKS!

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Sure, if you keep your grades up and take rigorous classes. The UC's use a special UC GPA, basically 10th and 11th GPA in a - g classes, with weighting on up to 8 semesters of approved AP/IB/Honors classes. (Legit AP/IB/Honors classes may not be approved due to the school not doing the paperwork, etc, so in your sophomore year check on your UC GPA.)

UC freshman admission profile http://admission.universityofcalifornia.edu/campus...

Click on a campus then Freshman admission profile to see stats. The GPA is probably the UC GPA.