Alex asked in HealthMental Health · 7 years ago

Am I an easy target for bullying?

I'm confused. Very very confused. So, let me start where Im not confused. Im a wrestler, a football player and I'm 14. I'm 5"9 and 160 pounds with a healthy mix of muscle. However I dont talk unless I'm good friends with the person or If they wrestle. I usually hang around the bad kids because they can keep a convorsation going. I'm a straight A student. Thank you for reading this far. But I'm In a problem. Kids who are weak and like 4"11 and 72 pounds are trying to call me fat a$$ and telling me they can kill me. People who I can destroy in wrestling are breaking my pencils while im not looking. I'm trying to save it for wrestling... But I'm gonna pop soon. Advice?

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Bullying is about verbal prowess.

It is about showing others they are superior. They do it to certain people, because the believe they won't physically be challenged.

If they do it to the physically weak, they know they won't be challenged, and therefore have an easy win. A small, negligible win (but it does stack, which is why they do it to a lot of people).

If they do it to the physically strong, they think they won't be challenged, but may well be. That is a hard win. However, if they do, it is a big win.

The key to stopping bullying is showing physical potential AS WELL AS making them believe you will use it.

You don't HAVE to use violence to stop bullying. All you have to do, is convince them that you may use it...

One way to do this, is to out-insult them when they insult you. This comes from a primitive place, where verbal insults would inevitably lead to a physical struggle. This is no longer the case, but our bodies still believe it.