? asked in Home & GardenDo It Yourself (DIY) · 7 years ago

changing 2 taps to mixer tap?

hello and help! i know nothing about plumbing and i dont want to get a plumber if i can do it myself (and by myself i mean my husband). basically we have a bath with 2 seperate hot/cold taps. my question is can we change the taps to 1 mixer tap with shower head? we are currently using one of those hose adaptor things and its a nightmare..i just wanna take a nice normal shower lol!

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Best Answer

im a builder ..all taps sold in uk will fit ..universal tap holes ..most baths have a larger pipe to feed the hot ..its easier to connect if you buy a pair of flexy pipes ..most merchants ..make sure you buy a reasonable quality tap as often with these taps ...the water comes in both sides .meet in middle ..and the cold pressure can push the hot back and restrict hot flow ....mainly happens on cheaper taps

• 7 years ago

These single taps are located in holes in the side of the bath, you will need to measure the distance between the centres of the two taps or holes to determine if this is possible. Generally the fittings on a mixer tap which attach the tap to the bath are at 150mm (6 inches) centres. If the distance between your two separate taps are more or less than this distance you might struggle to source a suitable mixer tap.

There will probably be some requirement to alter the pipe work feeding the taps so be sure hat you are capable of doing this.

Source(s): Plumber UK
  • 7 years ago

Depends on how dissimilar the cold pressure and hot pressure is.

You may well struggle to get a steady temperature in the shower head.

Do you have HW stored in a cylinder of have you a combi-boiler?

You get the best results from( HW cylinder + cold fed from loft tank) OR (mains cold + combi-boiler)

The underneath nuts on the old taps can be a right swine to undo. Get a 'proper' tool.

http://www.wickes.co.uk/basin-wrench-15+22mm/invt/...