Adrian asked in Business & FinanceCredit · 7 years ago

What are the best student credit cards that don't require credit?

I'm a college student that doesn't have any credit, and I'm having trouble finding a credit card that offers some kind of rewards, 0% introductory APR, and is not a secured credit card. Does such a thing exist? 10 points to anyone that can find me a student credit card with ALL these requirements.

9 Answers

Relevance
  • Merry
    Lv 7
    7 years ago
    Best Answer

I obviously can't guarantee that you will be approved, but I can tell you that such a card DOES exist (IF you're a full-time college student).

Before you apply, you should be at least 18 years old and enrolled in college (and registered for classes). You should also have a savings (not just checking) account. Not only does having a savings account look better on the application, but you should get in the habit of paying yourself first!

My daughter has a student Discover card – which fits all of your requirements - and loves it! If you use her referral link here: https://www.discovercard.com/cardmembersvcs/acqs/a... you can list things like grants, scholarships, and stipends under “other income”, along with any wages in the “yearly income” section. You'll also get $50 cashback bonus when you make your first purchase and you'll get cashback bonuses for everything that you purchase. I don't normally mention that there is an introductory interest free period. You get 0% for the first 9 months. The reason I don't usually mention it is that you don't want to get into the habit of carrying a balance. If you want to take advantage of the introductory offer, just make certain that you have the money to pay it off before the interest starts.