How is my friend getting perfect on every math test?

My friend is like a prodigy in math (in other subject he isn't perfect like this). Over 2 years of knowing him, he has never gone under 98% on any math test. I asked him how is he doing that? This is what he does:

-Sophomore (Geometry) and Junior (Algebra 2): Behind Honorary Juniors by 1 year

-rarely study (He said he only studied 20min for the Math Finals and he got 100%...I got 95%)

-does HW

-plays a lot of video games

-from Vietnam educations (they're like 1-2 years ahead)

-has less than 5 math test under 100% for 2 years

-Average Math Test Score: 99.9%

-PERFECT

-etc

Now me, I am a honorary student with average test score of 95% on every subject. My best subject is on math but with average of 98% math test score.

-Freshman (Geometry) and Sophomore (Precalc): I am ahead of him by 2 years. Ahead of Honorary Sophomores by 1 year

-Study on every test

-Does HW

-Play 1-2hr video game a day (depends on HW)

-Unweighted GPA: 4.0

-Honor Classes

-Not a photographic learner

-etc

So is there a trick to this? Photographic memory? etc?

My guess:

-photographic memory

-Already did the math in vietnam

Please help. I really want to know how he does it. I'm going to ask him after I get answer here XD.

Update:

@ Victor sorry but that wasn't very useful. Yes I would know some people are just naturally geniuses. But there are always explanations.

Genius in Math can refer to photographic memory or just lucky (in probability)

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

To me high school math was easy. Some people are just math geniuses and it comes to them naturally. Being good at math got me were I am today.

Source(s): Computer Engineer
  • 8 years ago

Is he mentally retarded in some way so he just excels in this area? If not, then you just have to accept the fact that he is just a natural or he cheats.

Also, the amount of work you do is not always equal to your intelligence.