Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsOutdoor RecreationHunting · 7 years ago

What caliber should I get my first hunting rifle chambered in?

I'm looking into purchasing my first hunting rifle and I think I am going to get a Ruger American. I am completely new to hunting and I am wondering what I should get it chambered in. I'm considering .308, .30-06, and possibly 7mm-08 (though I don't know much about the round), but I am leaning towards the .270. This is because of its flat trajectory and lower recoil (not by much, I know). Those two things are beneficial to a new shooter, I think. Plus the .270 is the only one I have experience shooting, and I have done well with it. I am wondering what otjer people have to say though. Some factors that are important to me are cost, availability, and versatility. I will mostly be using this rifle on deer, but would like to have the ability to hunt elk and possibly black bear or moose. I know the .30-06 is the most versatile, but is it really necessary for what I want to hunt? I plan on having one someday but I don't know that it's the best choice for my first rifle, especially one that is barely 6 lbs. Won't it kick like a mule? Please help me out, and tell me why you like your choice of caliber.

12 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Within 300 yards on deer/boar/black bear/elk sized game, you will not see very much difference in terminal effects with any of these cartridges. They are all within similar power levels of each other.

On small moose I wouldn't see much difference either. If you are going to be up in high eastern alaska, hunting trophy moose bulls, then I would ditch the 7mm-08 (unless using properly constructed handloads) and go with a .30/06. Well, in truth if I was going after monster trophy moose, then I'd probably be wanting a .300 win mag or such.