What is the value of a Medical Writer in pharmaceutical Industry.?

What is the value of that profession and future of the profession.

Do medical writers do Quality Assurance type of work for medicine or any other things in pharmaceutical company.

Thank you,

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Best Answer

I have been a medical writer for the pharmaceutical industry since obtaining my first medical writing job with Wellcome in 1995. I was a postdoctoral scientist no previous experience of writing for the pharmaceutical industry and during the interview my scientific knowledge and problem solving abilities were examined in more depth than my medical writing.

For example, if the prospective employer requires up to one year of medical writing experience, do not be disheartened. They may be quite willing to consider someone with suitable or related therapeutic area knowledge as this can also be an important aspect for some projects.

Some adverts may not specify a therapeutic area. Nowadays most companies advertise therapeutic area expertise on their websites.always check it out. You never know, their expertise might match your own! Don’t be afraid to call the employer to discuss the merits of your application and sell your therapeutic area knowledge.If you are a bench scientist, can you provide copies of your own scientific publications to support your writing abilities? If the potential employer is asking for pharmaceutical industry as well as medical writing experience, can you gain this in another way?