Will web design make you good money?

Ok I am new to web design and don't know a damn thing about it. I am wanting to learn all about it and see where it gets me. I figure it would go good since I like being on the computer lot and that is in the thing people like to do is go online. What I want to know is can I do best learning it on my own and make something of my own if I read, study, and follow directions. Don't know what my ideas are for the internet but I know for sure it doesn't happen over night. I got all the time I need to learn and create since I am 23 years. Of course I want to know does it make good money. I mean say you wanted to make a dating site or social site like pof or facebook. What about webcam site of that matter. I have seen these sex sites where girls perform on webcam and the company gets a cut of what they make. Like I said I am willing to learn and study. All my friends want to do is live this one day millionaire life going to clubs, smoking weed, and hoping to get laid. That is not me no more. I like to have fun but I am worried more about my future for me and my girlfriend so I can have a lot of money and possibly retire and become my own boss. So I am asking you people for help on if I should go to school or what my best move is.

5 stars to best answer

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Kris
    Lv 4
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

You can make decent money in web design, but it takes more than just making web pages. You have to be able to design web based apps. Making static web pages isn't going to cut it.

As an example of how much you can make, the going rate for a ColdFusion programmer (that is a web developer who uses the ColdFusion platform) is around $40k-$80k, depending on where you're at and how much experience you have. Generally speaking these positions ask for a bachelor's degree in the job postings, but they also take your portfolio and experience into account.