Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Computers & InternetHardwareLaptops & Notebooks · 8 years ago

if i leave my laptop plugged in for the majority of the time is that ok?

ok so i just got a laptop and im new to this whole laptop stuff after owning a desktop for the majoritly of my life. i was just wondering if i leave it plugged in most of the time, even when its on sleep mode, if its ok for the battery. i heard from some other sites that the batteries life is dependant on its temperature, and if it is heating up it is going to loose its 'life'. mine does not heat up at all after being plugged in for atleast 24hours (since i bought it). i just dont want my battery to, when i actually need to take my laptop somewhere, to die instantly. any help is much appreciated

5 Answers

Relevance
  • doug v
    Lv 7
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Excessive heat is indeed the enemy of battery life (as it is of all modern electronics - you needed it in the old days of vacuum tubes to operate at all, but not any more). What also shortens laptop battery life is the number of discharge/recharge cycles. It is for this reason more than any other that if you are not going to use it battery-only for a while it's better to remove it (let it discharge naturally to about 60-40% then put it in a drawer). This is because, even when it's plugged into the charger and running off AC, it's constantly discharging a little, and then since it's plugged in, recharging again - cycles that don't benefit you at all but merely shorten battery life. However, environmental conditions also play a significant role (like leaving the laptop in a hot car, for example). For more than you ever wanted to know about the subject visit Battery University (about halfway down the page to "What the User Can Do") here:

http://batteryuniversity.com/learn/article/how_to_...