liljohn asked in SportsBaseball · 8 years ago

I dont want to play baseball anymore?

Im a sophomore in high school. Ive been playing since i was little so im really good. Ive played on the freshman team last year but now im having second thoughts if i even want to do this anymore. I dont want to play because i just didnt really enjoy it and i guess i was just overwhelmed and i actually want to do something else and experience other aspects of high school other than sports. I know my Dad is going to be upset if i decide i don't want to play. He said i could miss scholarship opportunities and im just being lazy and dont want to put the time on stuff . I could understand the scholarship opprotunities because its not like my family is rich. Anyway i just want to narrow down my choices to just play basketball and do theatre and music so i wouldnt be as stressed and have a well balanced life and not just always play sports year round like i been doing all my life

14 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

when i see these questions i think of a 6 year old with a poopy face whining.

If you don't want to play anymore, then don't. Your dad should not be even part of the decision.

All you have to say is that you still like the game, but not enough to play it anymore, and you would like to focus on just basketball or music or whateverr.

• Well, I can see where you and your dad are coming from. Think about it this way... Scholarships for baseball (or any sport in general) is very very slim. Academics are the main scholarships given out to high school students. As long as you keep your grades up and do well on you SAT/ACT that will help you get in to college on "scholarship" and it will show your dad you aren't being lazy. Also make sure you follow your dreams, because I'm sure your father wants you to be happy and if theatre or basketball, etc is your dream. Your father would love to see you happy ad pursuing your dream.

• 8 years ago