Holy Days of Obligation?

What are the holy days of obligation according to the LATIN rite in INDIA?

I keep searching the net. But all I've seen are those specific to western countries.

5 Answers

  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    The 1983 Code of Canon Law identifies Sunday as "the primordial

    holy day

    of obligation" in the universal Church.

    In addition to Sunday there are 10 other days of obligation:

    1. The Nativity of the Lord Jesus Christ (Christmas)

    2. The Epiphany (Jan. 6.)

    3. The Ascension (40 days after Easter)

    4. The Body and Blood of Christ (Corpus Christi) not observed in the United States

    5. Holy Mary, the Mother of God (octave day of Christmas, Jan. 1)

    6. The Immaculate Conception (Dec. 8)

    7. The Assumption (Aug. 15)

    8. St. Joseph (March 19) not observed in the United States

    9. Ss. Peter and Paul (June 29) not observed in the United States

    10. All Saints (Nov. 1)

    The 1983 Code of Canon Law also states that the conference of Bishops

    (usually the bishops of a particular country of a region) can suppress or

    transfer the observance of these days, after approval from the Apostolic See (i.e. the Vatican)

    Several years ago the National Conference of Catholic Bishops determined that the holy days of Mary, the Mother of God (Jan. 1), the Assumption (Aug. 15) and All Saints (Nov. 1) would not be observed with the obligation of participating in Mass whenever they would be a Saturday or Monday. Whenever these holy days are a Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday or Friday then they would be observed with the obligation of participation in Mass. This decision was approved by the Vatican.

    In the past year the conference of Bishops received approval to transfer the holy days of Ascension Thursday to Sunday. The bishops of each province had to agree to this transfer before it was permissible. In Nebraska, which is the Metropolitan Province of Omaha or the the dioceses of Omaha, Lincoln, Grand Island, the bishops determined that Ascension Thursday should be observed on the 40th day after Easter rather than moving it to a Sunday.

    Yes, why not email a diocese in India and ask?

  • 6 years ago

    Regarding days of obligation, canon 1246 prescribes ten days of obligation besides Sundays. In India, Christmas and the Feast of the Assumption of Our Lady are observed as days of obligation. Three feasts– the Epiphany of Our Lord, the Ascension of Christ and the feast of the Body and Blood of Christ – have been transferred to Sunday. The other five solemnities- Mary, Mother of God, the Immaculate Conception, St. Joseph, the Apostles Peter and Paul, and All Saints – are not feast days of obligation in India.

    The obligation of assisting at Mass is satisfied whenever Mass is celebrated in a Catholic rite, either on a holy day itself or in the evening of the previous day… (Canon 1248). In India the obligation of assisting at Mass can, therefore, be fulfilled on the previous Saturday evening (after 4.00 p.m. and on the eve of Christmas and the Assumption).

    Source(s): www.archdiocesedelhi.com/Lenten_regulations_VOD_Feb_2013.doc
  • 8 years ago

    Sorry ((lazybones))) but you're wrong on this one... While the latin rite is Catholic and universal there are variances between countries as to which HDO as celebrated on that feast day and which are transferred to the nearest Sunday. Individual diocese set different rules in this area. In the United states I believe there are five or six HDO, I live in Canada just to the North and we only have two (outside of the 52 regular Sunday commitments)

    Sorry Elvira I couldn't find the rules on this for India, but there must be an Archdiocesan web-site you can access.

  • 8 years ago

    Days of obligation are the same everywhere in the Latin rite; that's why it's called Catholic (Universal).

    Edit: D.D: you live up to your name! The major holy days of the Church are observed Universally; National Patron Saints receive more importance in their native Countries but the major feasts in the Christian Calendar are observed on the same day- Advent, Christmas, Ash Wed., Good Friday, Pentecost, Assumption, etc.

    Days of obligation are Sunday, Ash Wednesday, Good Friday and Christmas. (Technically, crossing a National border on a certain day and not attending Mass can be constituted as a sin, since that day is obligation in one Nation but not the neighbour....splitting hairs)

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • piner
    Lv 4
    5 years ago

    Easter consistently falls on Sunday, a day of responsibility in its possess correct. Excellent Friday is the only day of the yr that there will likely be no Mass (Eucharistic Liturgy). Hence there can also be no responsibility to attend Mass. Just about all the Feast of the Lord arise on Sundays and mostly in the united states the Ascension of the Lord and and the idea of Mary are moved to Sunday combining the Sunday and Holyday duties.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.