I need a science fair project !?

I'm a freshman in highschool, and we have a mandatory scicence fair. We are aloud to have a partners, and was paired with my boyfriend. He want's to do something with Nuclear fusion, fission, or whatever. But I have no idea how to do an experiment on that? So I'm asking anyone who reads this to help me out? Give me a science project with matierials that I can buy from walmart, since I live in a very small town and walmart is the only local store. I want it to be easy to do, but mind blowing. I need a Topic by Friday, Dec. 7th. And a hypothesis. Volcanos and geysers arent aloud.

THANK YOU!

4 Answers

Relevance
  • RiRi
    Lv 5
    7 years ago
    Best Answer

I'm a freshman too! :) Here are three ideas for your 9th Grade Science Fair: (sorry, i only know 3)

1. Purpose:

The purpose of this science fair project is to understand the reaction between vinegar (a weak acid) and sodium bicarbonate. Acids have many properties such as a sour taste, they dissolve in water to form solutions that conduct electricity, can release hydrogen when add to certain metals, and can neutralize bases.

When you combine vinegar with baking soda you will produce carbon dioxide gas. Carbon dioxide gas will cause gas pressure will which inflate items such as a balloon. Baking soda is known in chemistry as Sodium Bicarbonate.

Hypothesis:

Mixing vinegar with baking soda will yield carbon dioxide gas. The carbon dioxide gas will cause the cylinder filled with baking soda to expand. The expanded cylinder will allow more vinegar to enter it which prompts a greater gas pressure. The overall effect of the reaction will enable the balloon to self inflate.

Variables:

Amount of Baking Soda

Amount of Vinegar

Material that holds the baking soda (waxed paper versus paper towel)

Temperature of the vinegar

Materials Needed:

Large round Balloon

2-Liter plastic soda bottle

Vinegar

Funnel

Waxed Paper

Towel

Baking Soda

Spoon

Scissors

2. Purpose: