I am applying for a medical mission trip but I am atheist, should I lie and say I am Christian?

Hi I am an atheist college student at a christian university and I want to apply for a summer mission trip out of the country...the opportunity is amazing and desperately want to go. I love helping people plus the benefits of hands on medical experience..The issue is though...I am atheist and the essay questions ask about god and faith. Should I lie about believing in God just to get a spot? I feel strongly about honesty especially about faith...but is this one of those situations just to give the people what they want? Or if I was honest about not having faith would they still accept me? Seems a little unfair if they wouldn't, if u ask me

Update:

@ jahodi

just because i dont believe in a man in the clouds that rules the universe doesnt mean i do not want to help people in need...I just means i do not believe in the paranormal I like concrete facts

12 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

You'll probably know my attitude when you read my answer:

YOU already know the answer.

Be honest.

Hell they'll probably relish the chance to convert you LOL.

• 8 years ago

You are just where God wants you to be, maybe? My idea would be to use an old story from the father of our faith, Abe : "Call into things that which is not.." how's that? I advise you to say you are a Christian and at the end of your mission trip it will most likely have come true; so why not act like one, speak like one, and go by ....Faith.. which means believing and walking in something that has not yet come true for you... and before you know it, your life will have the biggest thrill you will have experienced yet, living by faith.