Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesVisual ArtsDrawing & Illustration · 8 years ago

Am I a bad artist?....?

I paint a lot and draw with charcoal. I mostly do portraits and sketches. Anyway my brother that's in a band asked me to design his band logo, I've never done that before and I know how to use photoshop but i usually don't. I tried anyway and he laughed and said he's gonna pay someone else to do it. Do I suck since I can't design? Does this mean I'm not creative ?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Mark
    Lv 5
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Don't be too hard on yourself.One of the things you will learn in becoming an Artist,is that you can't please everyone. Work mainly on pleasing yourself and that could take some time.You will be your toughest customer for a while. Designing logo's is a knack all it's own,and it took a few years until I was comfortable with my drawing skills before I could relax my guidelines and design. It does not mean that you are not creative,it may mean that you might help yourself better by filling your imagination with more "stuff". By "stuff" I mean experience.You say charcoal,I say like charcoal pencils?Sticks? Have you tried Conte Crayons? It's compressed charcoal in black,grey,burnt sienna.

What color paper do you use? Try the pale shades of orange,yellow,green.And try using a white compressed charcoal pencil for highlights,or a kneaded eraser for removing small areas in your work.

Source(s): Personal experience and observation.you will always be adding to your skills as you keep drawing, and unless you go to a planet with no people,there will always be opportunities to test yourself.
  • B K
    Lv 7
    8 years ago

Drawing and sketching is quite technically different from designing a logo. Also graphic designers don't usually design logos in Photoshop. Most prefer to use vector image editing software such as Adobe Illustrator - because vector graphics are rescalable without degradation in quality.