A better route for a carpet cleaning company to take?

I worked as a technician for 3+ years before starting my own company last January. I live and work in an area of suburban NYC that has communities that are 100% Orthodox and/or Hassidic Jews. Talk about busy... Let's just say as an employee and an owner, I worked 12 hours a day, 7 days per week for two weeks... show more I worked as a technician for 3+ years before starting my own company last January. I live and work in an area of suburban NYC that has communities that are 100% Orthodox and/or Hassidic Jews. Talk about busy... Let's just say as an employee and an owner, I worked 12 hours a day, 7 days per week for two weeks taking care of these customers and the money is very good. Spring is good for other customers not of the Jewish faith. I had a really good start.
I was very encouraged last March-April-May. As expected, June-July-August slowed down quite a bit. Normally, September-October pick up a bit. Not for me this year. Then came Sandy. I am not insured in NJ or NYC, but still found some water damage work.
Sandy wasn't bad for me, but not great. Equipment limitations and insurance limitations hurt, but late October and early November were right on target.
Now it is post Sandy. Mid November to mid December are supposed to be like Passover. 12 hours a day, 7 days a week. Not for me. Not this year. I am slower now than the dog days of summer. I'm spending more on advertising than I am doing in gross sales. I am dumbfounded. After 3 weeks of heavy advertising in the paper, on the radio and online, I cancelled everything. I can't put out this kind of money and get no results at all.
I'm thinking there are several problems. First the local economy is not so good. Fuel prices are too high. Heating oil has never been higher. People don't have money because of fuel prices.