What are the different types of lymphoma?

2 Answers

  • Lark
    Lv 7
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    Lymphoma is a type of blood cancer that occurs when lymphocytes -- white blood cells that help protect the body from infection and disease -- begin behaving abnormally. Abnormal lymphocytes may divide faster than normal cells or they may live longer than they are supposed to. Lymphoma may develop in many parts of the body, including the lymph nodes, spleen, bone marrow, blood or other organs.

    There are two main types of lymphoma: Hodgkin's lymphoma and non Hodgkin's lymphoma. While both types of cancer develop in the same way, the single factor that distinguishes the two is a single type of cell - the Reed Sternberg cell. This cancerous cell type is found only in Hodgkin's Lymphoma and can be distinguished from other types of Lymphoma by the way it appears under a microscope.

    Furthermore, Hodgkin's lymphoma and non Hodgkin's lymphoma grow and spread in different ways. If a lymphoma diagnosis is made and does not contain the Reed-Sternberg variant, the cancer can then only be Non Hodgkin's Lymphoma.

    Hodgkin's Lymphoma

    Also called Hodgkin's disease, Hodgkin's lymphoma is cancer of the lymph tissue found in the lymph nodes, spleen, liver, and bone marrow. There are six types of Hodgkin's Lymphoma:

    ~ Nodular Sclerosing Hodgkin Lymphoma (NSHL):

    This is the most common type of Hodgkin Lymphoma. In the developed countries 60-80% of the people affected by Hodgkin disease have the Nodular Sclerosing subtype. It is commoner in females and mostly affects younger people – adolescents and young adults. The disease mainly affects nodes in the neck or armpits, or within the chest.

    ~ Mixed Cellularity Hodgkin Lymphoma (MCHL):

    This is another common type of Hodgkin Lymphoma. 15-30% of those affected have mixed cellularity disease. This type is more common in developing countries. People of any age may be affected. Males and females are equally affected. This type of disease is more likely to involve the abdomen than the more common nodular sclerosing variety, and less likely to involve nodes within the chest.

    ~ Lymphocyte Depleted Hodgkin Lymphoma (LDHL):

    The Lymphocyte depletion subtype is a very rare form of Hodgkin Lymphoma that makes up only about 1% of those affected by the disease. It affects older people and is often diagnosed in an advanced stage when the lymphoma has affected different organs of the body. It is also more common in those who are HIV affected.

    ~ Lymphocyte-rich Classic Hodgkin Lymphoma (LRCHL):

    This is another uncommon subtype that makes up about 5-6% of Hodgkin patients. It is more common in males and affects people most commonly in their thirties or forties. Most individuals are diagnosed in early stages and response to treatment is excellent.

    ~ Nodular Lymphocyte Predominant Hodgkin Lymphoma (NLPHL):

    Now considered to be a special type of Hodgkin disease that is different from the other types mentioned above, this variant accounts for 4-5% of all cases of Hodgkin disease. According to pathologists this type has many similarities with Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma (NHL). In all clinical aspects, however, the features are similar to the lymphocyte-rich type of Hodgkin lymphoma. Most individuals are diagnosed early and do very well after treatment.

    Non Hodgkin's Lymphoma covers a far more broad range of cancer cells, and there are numerous types. The most common subtypes of non-Hodgkin's lymphopma are:

    T-Cell Lymphomas

    Extranodal natural killer/T-cell lymphoma, nasal type

    Cutaneous T-cell lymphoma

    Enteropathy type T-cell lymphoma

    Angioimmunoblastic T-cell lymphoma

    Anaplastic large T/null-cell lymphoma

    Subcutaneous panniculitis-like T-cell lymphoma

    Unspecified T-cell lymphoma

    B-cell Lymphoma

    Diffuse large B-cell lymphoma

    Chronic lymphocytic leukemia/small lymphocytic lymphoma

    Extranodal marginal zone B-cell lymphomas - mucosa-associated lymphoid tissue lymphomas

    Follicular lymphoma

    Mantle cell lymphoma

    Nodal marginal zone B-cell lymphoma

    Burkitt lymphoma

    Hairy cell leukemia

    Primary central nervous system lymphoma

    Splenic marginal zone B-cell lymphoma

    Lymphoplasmocytic lymphoma

    Primary mediastinal B-cell lymphoma

    *Note I primarily copied and pasted this answer from reliable sources. I'm not an oncologist or healthcare professional by any means, but I did have HL.*

    ~ skylark

  • 8 years ago

    I am a medical oncologist, and "Skylark" did a good job.

    There are over thirty types of lymphomas - all different diseases and stages.

    Very simple to Google it and find out more about each subtype.

    Not sure why you would want ALL of this information.

    It is very complex. The only doctors who understand it

    are medical oncologists like me of pathologist like JLI on this site.

    Here is a good reference too.


    Source(s): MD Medical Oncologist and Hematologist - a cancer and blood specialist doctor - with twenty years experience
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.