Should I change careers from teaching to nursing?

I've been a special Ed teacher for two years now, I have my b.a in early childhood education and my certification in both special Ed and early childhood k-3.

I'm starting to worry that I'm burning out, mainly do to the politics and philosophy of my school.

I'm considering teach for America, grad school for social work (I know that's no pay increase) or an associates in registered nursing.

I'd love to work nights and wouldn't mind if it involved 3 12 hour shifts a week. I'd like more time to focus on hobbies and my own personal life. I love working with and helping people, just not sure if I'm making the right choice. Suggestions?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Sarah
    Lv 5
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

It sounds like you're interested in nursing and are familiar enough with the job. I would say go for it. The financial and job security opportunities in nursing are fantastic, and that is unlikely to change anytime soon. I know there are accelerated programs at some schools that you can complete in just over a year. Before you commit to another degree and career change, though, it might be worth seeing if you can shadow a nurse at a hospital for a few hours or get some other intro into the position before making the change. You could try calling a hospital or even an adviser at a nursing school. Good luck!

• 4 years ago

as an example you change right into a nurse. perchance get many years of journey. yet you fairly want to coach. evaluate this: there's a best scarcity of nurse educators, as you'll see once you're in nursing practise. that's the proper position that you would possibly want to land. the purely question is how a lot useful journey you would in my opinion want to carry right into a nursing lecture room besides to the more desirable degree artwork in guidance/nursing required.

• 8 years ago