Can you become a nutritionist with a Biochemistry degree?

I'm currently in my third year in college pursuing a Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and Biotechnology degree. Originally, I wanted to go into pharmaceutical medicine and wanted to work at Abbott Labs or Phizer. However, recently I have become less and less interested in this field after holding a job at an organic chemistry lab doing research for a couple months. I have become more interested in going into nutritional science and becoming a nutritionist or dietitian, as I am extremely health conscious and enjoy being healthy and working out.

Would it be possible for me to go on to study to be a nutritionist in graduate school with this undergraduate degree? If so, what steps would I need to take to make that happen? Thanks in advance

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Yes, and no. But first, it depends if you want to be a nutritionist or a registered dietitian. "Nutritionist" is kind of a vague term - anyone can call themselves a nutritionist just like anyone can call themselves a runner. A registered dietitian has met a certain standard and education level.

If you want to just study nutrition in grad school with a biochem degree, then yes. Usually the prereqs are bio, chem, biochem, and physiology. But most would advise having courses in nutrition.

If you want to become an RD, then you need to take the accredited courses, which will allow you to apply for a dietetic internship (a post-bacc program) that will then allow you take the exam to become an RD. DI's are VERY competitive - more competitive than med school. There are some dual masters/DI program. Some people will get their masters first and then apply for a DI.