I was just charged with possession of less than 1/2 ounce of marijuana and possession of drug paraphernalia .?

The police came to my townhome and said that they had a complaint for marijuana for this address. I'm sure this was b/c of the previous owner. I know my rights and wasn't about to let them in, but they said they just wanted to sit in the living room and talk. I trusted them and let them in, but in turn they actually searched my house and found my grinder with about .2 grams in it and a small bowl.

I am a broke college student. I have been charged with this before in the past, but got it all dropped and expunged. This is causing me a whole lot of stress. My school has found out about it. Can anyone help me out on some guidance on what steps i should take next? or what am i looking at for total cost out of my pocket b/c i can barley pay rent......, and i dont even want this on my record b/c im applying for jobs as an engineering student.

-any feedback will help, thanks

Update:

-well the officers had come b4 earlier in the year looking for my roommate, and i didn't let them in b/c they didn't have a warrant. They told me they would be back and they were only here to make sure that i wasn't a dealer selling large amounts. So when they came a second time, i figured i would just let them come into the living room to talk about it, b/c thats all they said they wanted to do. I thought this would convince them that i wasn't.

They were in the living room and they asked me if they could look through the rest of the house to make sure that i wasn't the only one home for their safety. They walked into my room and in plain sight on my drafting table was my paraphernalia. :(.....so am it s.o.l ?

Update 2:

*sigh, my house is clean, there is no smell, i only use marijuana as a stress reliever after i get my hw done late at night. If you don't know engineering hw can be really stressful at times. :/

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer