Lulu.K asked in PetsCats · 8 years ago

How old should a child be to have a cat in the house?

I had a cat but now she's gone due to a problem with the adoption center we got her from. So now we want to get another one. I have a lot of experience with cats and have everything a cat might need from a litter box to nail clippers. And I already found a cat and contacted the owner for details, but my dad said that my younger brother (2 years old) has to grow older before we get a cat. The cat I want knows how to handle young children and my brother has lived with my other cat for a year. I want to know how old a child should be and if possible ways to convince my dad.

Update:

Adopt an adult: You don't fully understand, I talked to the owner and she said that the cat , who is 1 year old, knows how to handle young children and doesn't attack them, and my younger brother is learning not to hurt them, he tries to pet them and is constantly improving.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

This is the same person who whined they couldn't get their parents to buy then a 1,000 cat from a pet store and whined even louder when no one would tell them how to make their parents get them an expensive cat.

Why should they get you another cat?

You dumped one, kept another outside claiming your bother was allergic and that your mom was worried it would scratch or bite him. You really are an irresponsible owner who does need a another cat.

You can't. You couldn't make them get you a 1,000 cat they won't get a cheap cat. You really don't need any more cats, not with you dumping them and whining for a shiny new one. Rescues own't adopt to your parents because they have a two year old.

Honestly you need to stop being such a spoiled brat and stop wanting cats since you clearly don't take care of them and your parents have made it clear they don't want any more cats.

• Anonymous
    4 years ago