are the 50 states all there?

There are 5 regions in the U.S., am I correct? If not, tell me the amount. Now, I need to know, are all 50 states represented in these regions? Explain. Oh, and why? Thanks, It's helpful!


Somebody just told me there were 6 regions. I'm so confused!!

4 Answers

  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    The US Census Bureau designates 4 regions which encompass the 50 states and District of Columbia..

    Region 1 (Northeast)

    Division 1 (New England) Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut

    Division 2 (Mid-Atlantic) New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey

    Region 2 (Midwest) (Prior to June 1984, the Midwest Region was designated as the North Central Region.)[1]

    Division 3 (East North Central) Wisconsin, Michigan, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio

    Division 4 (West North Central) Missouri, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, Minnesota, Iowa

    Region 3 (South)

    Division 5 (South Atlantic) Delaware, Maryland, District of Columbia, Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida

    Division 6 (East South Central) Kentucky, Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama

    Division 7 (West South Central) Oklahoma, Texas, Arkansas, Louisiana

    Region 4 (West)

    Division 8 (Mountain) Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, Nevada, Utah, Colorado, Arizona, New Mexico

    Division 9 (Pacific) Alaska, Washington, Oregon, California, Hawaii

    The US Office of Management and Budget designates 10 regions, and they include not just the 50 states and D.C., but also the outer territories:

    Region I: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont

    Region II: New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

    Region III: Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia

    Region IV: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee

    Region V: Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, Wisconsin

    Region VI: Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas

    Region VII: Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska

    Region VIII: Colorado, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wyoming

    Region IX: Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada (American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands)

    Region X: Alaska, Idaho, Oregon, Washington

    There are physical regions as well, but those are not based on state boundaries.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 7 years ago

    Actually, there are 7.

    The south Central states, The Rocky Mountain states, The pacific Coast states, the New England states, The Middle Atlantic States, the North Central states, and the South eastern States.

    All are represented. Hawaii and Alaska are part of the pacific coast states. Sorry for all the confusion :/ but I'm positive i'm correct.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 7 years ago

    your correct to their being five regions. And yes all 50 are in the five regions. Alaska and Hawaii are still considered to be in the west region.

    There are not 6 regions, there are 5. There is Northeast, Southeast, Midwest, Southwest and West.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 7 years ago

    I think you should explain to me what a region is? I mean, I don't know. Is it a country? Or is it a state. What is a country different from a state. Wait, what is a nation if America is the continent. Seriously, I am confused.

    • Login to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.