Is studying the grammar in any language a waste of time?

I mean, I really want to become fluent in Spanish as I'm going to Colombia soon, I'm also studying Spanish at school and I struggle too much, so I went to every site that helps you with Spanish, and all it ever said was that the grammar is a waste of time, is that true, cause my teacher told me that learning the grammar is very vital. But others say different.. Confused!!

8 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Consider grammar as a part of a puzzle, when you put it with the other pieces together you'll get language as a result. You need grammar, it teaches you to construct syntactically correct sentences. Grammar is definitely not a waste of time, but some make the mistake of learning only the grammar and neglect that way communication. A balance is necessary here. Grammar, vocabulary and communication.

Source(s): Romance philology student
  • Frank
    Lv 7
    8 years ago

In terms of learning a language, learning grammar once will help you. If you understand the direct object and indirect object in English, it will help you learn them in Spanish.

Also, learning how to learn is a very useful skill that goes beyond just the language you are studying.

• Anonymous
    8 years ago

It's vital.

Native speakers of a language pick up grammar effortlessly during childhood, without needing to know rules as such. But to older non-native learners, it's really not possible to learn a second language well without consciously learning rules of grammar.

• 8 years ago

A native child learns his own language without learning grammar consciously. But he could say:

YESTERDAY I GOED TO SCHOOL. (instead of went).

This mistake indicates he knows that the past tense should end in -ed. Who taught him grammar ? Nobody, he found out about the past and uses it but he doesn't even know he knows GRAMMAR.

----------------------------------------------------------