What position can a skinny guy play in high school football?

Ok so I'm a sophomore in high school and my friends and I were thinking of joining our football team for our junior year. I'm pretty skinny and I'm about 5'7 I weigh somewhere between 112-120 pounds. I started weight lifting back in February and I've improved because when I started I could only lift 15 pound dumbells and now I could lift 25 pound and 30 pound dumbells ( is that good?) I also couldn't bench press before but now I bench press 20 pounds on each side (is that good?). I was just wondering if I join what position you think I would be more suitable to play. I currently go to the gym so any tips on what I should work on before I try out? (I've got untill summer of next year to try out) Also I've never played a sport before and don't know much about football, so what position would you think I'm more likely to play?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Best Answer

You should ask the coach about what position you have a chance at playing.. He knows the team and who is already on it better than anyone.. He also knows what needs the team has and could probably give you a few options.. Get with him.. Good luck...

• 7 years ago

I agree with the previous poster. There aren't too many positions that someone your size would be able to play on a football team. Even QBs are tall and around 200lbs. Most football players are taller and heavier and can lift and bench as much as you weigh, if not more.

• Anonymous
    7 years ago

If you can catch and are fast then a wide-receiver. If you are fast and can hit a safety (That's kind of a boring position if you ask me and I know because I played there once so very long ago.) If you can do none of those things, then a kicker or a punter. I personally play O-line and let me tell you, special teams are boring.

• 6 years ago

If your fast a cb if not, a kicker

• How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Cu Tie
    Lv 7