Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Any cheap dental insurance plans?

I'm a college student and I'm poor as hell. I need my wisdom teeth out and it's so expensive. I would like insurance anyway for checkups. I'm willing to pay 15-45$ a month. All I need is something to cover wisdom teeth extraction (or pay for a good % of it) and caity fillings just in case. Is there even anythin out there as cheap as this?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 9 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Nope. Dental insurance is designed to not pay out more than it costs, because most people who buy it, want to pay a small amount, submit a large amount of claims, and then cancel the policy.

You'll have to wait a full year before anything big is covered; there's an annual limit to how MUCH is covered, usually $750 or $1,000 for individual policies, AND, there's also a coinsurance clause - usually 50% for wisdom teeth.

So, my son had his four wisdom teeth out, and we had $1500 of dental coverage for him. We STILL paid $1400 on top of his limit maxing out.

Your best bet, will be to see if you can get into a dental school. It will probably STILL run you around $500 or $600, but that's 25% of retail, so it's a GREAT DEAL.

• Anonymous
    5 years ago