What frustrates you most as a fan of Science Fiction/ Fantasy about authors of that genre?

More or less I am curious what sort of things you are tired of in the Sci-Fi/ Fantasy Novels. Authors can sometimes not strike a right note, or perhaps you're just tired of reading stories with similar elements to them? What (off the top of your head) would you like to see. Anything from Plots to Storyworlds to annoyingly generic characters. I am a writer and find myself wondering what people are craving for or simply tired of seeing over and over. Also what completely turns you off of a novel?

Thanks for any and all input.

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Best Answer

If I could give you a dozen stars, I would. This question has been revolving in my mind for...5 years now? More? Mostly because I cant stand today's speculative fiction. At. All. Especially fantasy. So childishly written. So incredibly predictable. So pretentious. So shallow/empty. So verbose and boring. They should list "reading fantasy" as a legitimate precursor to dental disease. The teeth grinding alone...

Anyway. Aside from the aforementioned...I cannot tolerate the RPG writing style of a lot of speculative fiction (and this can be found in all subgenres under speculative fiction, not just fantasy).

You see authors using onomatopoeia, or long passages describing exactly HOW a character kicked an orc's head off, or extremely lazy (and childish) descriptions ("Awesome shockwave of power"--mistborn--Brandon Sanderson), giving characters super-hero powers and then puppeting them through a generically predictable plot line, or creating incredibly stupid magic systems that threaten to turn the fantasy into a space-opera because they leave no mystery to the reader's mind and explain everything to the point where it's a science (example? Sanderson's Mistborn...congrats mate...you've been nominated twice for my sh!t list).