Is Slender Man a copyrighted character?

I'm in the middle of a fantasy novel and I need to add a new monster. Recently I've been reading about Slender Man online and he scares the crap out of me, so as a writer, I feel obligated to write about him. Still, in all my research I can't seem to trace him back to any one creator (like all creepypastas, he seems to have come from nowhere). Is there any copyright out there I need to worry about? If so, I'll just alter the creature enough to make it my own, but I'd like to use Slender Man if there are no copyright issues that people know of.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I previously wrote: The "idea" or "concept" of slenderman has been around for a very long time, but would not be copyrightable in any case. Copyright only protects a specific "expression" of an idea, not the idea itself. For instance, "Romeo and Juliet" contains ideas found in "West Side Story", which is certainly not public domain (it is still copyrighted) although based upon a public domain text and non-copyrightable ideas.

From: "Can I write a novel about the SLENDER MAN", answered two weeks ago.

RE: the answer suggesting the concept is "2 or 3 years old" is simply uninformed.

• Anonymous
    3 years ago

Source(s): Extra Cash Writing http://givitry.info/WritingJobsOnline
  • 5 years ago

Unfortunately, you can write a novel about a slender man but not "The Slender Man". I digress: