I want to learn about Norse Mythology/Scandinavia?

I have little to no knowledge about the big umbrella that is Norse Mythology, but I'm really interested in it. I love Scandinavian culture and music, and I've always been curious about their older beliefs and mythologies.

I'm looking for a good beginner's introduction for Norse Mythology. Does anyone know of a good book that'll help me get started and maybe other books that would give me some history on it all? I don't know where to start because there's so much involved in the subject, but I'm willing to try and understand as much as I can.

Maybe even books on the vikings or the different religions in medieval Scandinavia would be great to have, I like that kind of stuff. Even books that help me understand Scandinavian culture a little more would be fun to read! Any help & suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! =3

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Best Answer

Hmm... Really hard to know what to recommend without knowing your tastes, reading abilities and skill. Do you prefer original sources or analyses? Poetry, prose, or non-fiction? I'll recommend some intermediate texts to get you started, at least.

A nice basic guide:

http://www.amazon.com/Norse-Mythology-Heroes-Ritua...

The simplest of the original sources, the Prose Edda:

http://www.amazon.com/The-Prose-Edda-Mythology-Cla...