whats the point in buying a 1000cc + sports bike?

or even a 600cc or 750cc sports bike for that matter because although they are extremely fast you can't use that speed on the road unless you're somewhere like germany, plus they're not that comfortable and don't get good miles to the gallon compared with other bikes.

so whats the point in buying them?

12 Answers

Relevance
  • Spewy
    Lv 6
    7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I like them, they are fun, and yes, I ride them fast on Freeways here in So. Cal.. Hell, last FRiday I was doing over 145mph going down a Freeway in the carpool lane, so you writing that the speed can't be used here is incorrect. Just because you don't have the gonads or intestinal fortitude to ride great bikes doesn't mean the rest of us are as spineless, I've been riding them for over 25 years in So. Cal traffic, and I ride them hard.

Source(s): Riding over 27 years io Los Angeles traffic, have 7 streetbikes currently, from cruisers to sportbikes.
    • Login to reply the answers
  • 7 years ago

I would agree that some of them have no point unless you're going to a track. For instance, you don't hit the power curve in first gear on a R1 until you've already broken the speed limit. It does about 100mph in first gear and the real power is in the top of the tach, so you don't get to it until you're doing 70mph +. A gearing change can fix that. A Liter plus bike with a wide torque band however does make a bit more sense. On a bike like that, it pulls like a bat out of hell at legal speeds too.

I don't think the issue with super sports is the size of the engine. I would argue that the problem is the suspension. It's so refined that cornering becomes boring without extreme speeds. With that in mind, 600cc super sports are stupid for on street use also.