Buying a house, where to start?

It's my first time buying a house, and no idea where to start. I've looked at few houses online, but I have no credit history at all. I live home with my parents, so I don't have any bills. I do work, but I don't have any car payments, insurance bill or anything like that. The house I am interested in, is $90,000.00. How could I get a loan without a credit score though? My parents won't co-sign for it,so I am on my own..Should I meet with a Realtor or what?

Update:

If I was interested in a house for $150,000.00, how would I figure out my monthly payments etc..

6 Answers

Relevance
  • M W
    Lv 7
    7 years ago
    Best Answer

Before you start looking at houses, make an appointment with the mortgage department of your bank. They will help you to see what kind of mortgage amount you might qualify for. The difference between the mortgage amount you can get and the selling price of the house would have to be your cash down payment.

They want you to be employed at the same job for at least two years, have a good amount of cash downpayment, no negatives on your credit report and they prefer you to be over 21 years old.

Go to annualcreditreport.com and get an actual copy of your credit report. You can have it mailed to you, or you can print it off at home.

Your parents are wise to not co-sign. Co-signing for anyone is always a very bad idea, especially something large, like a house.

You don't need to meet with a realtor yet, you need to meet with someone at your bank.

• Rick B
    Lv 7
    7 years ago

Save up 20 % for a down payment, plus 3 to 5% for closing costs.

You will also want a cash emergency fund of about 3 to 6 months' expenses.

To qualify for a mortgage you'll need 2 years of steady job history and a strong credit score.

• 7 years ago

Unless you plan to pay all cash, you won't qualify for a mortgage. Mortgage lenders will not accept a co-signer.

You need:

Minimum 620 FICO Score

2 years stable job history