Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Food & DrinkVegetarian & Vegan · 8 years ago

I'm a starving vegan college student living on my own. Easiest meal you know? Don't say salad?

There is a grocery store across the street but all I can find is complicated recipes. Thanks!

22 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Dragon bowls. To paraphrase Shakespeare, custom cannot stale its infinite variety.

You need: cooked grain or starch, a vegetable or vegetables, some sort of protein-y thing, and a sauce.

Tonight, I had one made with quinoa, braised mixed veggies (onions, bell peppers, and kale), and some marinara sauce. My curried lentils had gone bad :-( so I sprinkled on some cheese.

You can go all around the world with this one.

Middle Eastern could be couscous with falafel, mixed cold veggies (radish, cucumber, scallion, maybe some lettuce) and tahini sauce.

Mexican could be brown rice, salsa, and beans (toss on some olives, lettuce, tomatoes, onion, and avocado).

Asian could be more rice with a stir-fry that includes tofu, tempeh, or edamame.

Comfort food? Mashed potatoes or leftover stuffing (or both) with field roast, green beans, and gravy.

Something spicy? Mashed sweet potatoes with gumbo or black bean chili (I put lots of veggies in my stew-like things, so I don't need extra).

Something wintery? Barley topped with slow-cooked leeks and mushrooms. (For protein, try some Italian-style white beans with garlic and sage.)

If you buy pre-made sauces, make a big batch of starch, and do some of your basic chopping prep at the start of the week, it's very easy. If you make a double batch of your veggies or protein, you can also re-use leftovers in different combinations.

• Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago

Cheapest and easiest meal I know is Ramen noodles mixed with vegetables and maybe some mock meat.