Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentPolitics · 7 years ago

Re: "You didn't build that." WHERE does government get money to pay private companies to build roads & bridges?

"If you've got a business, you didn't build that. Somebody else [government] made that happen."

~ Borat 0bama

Update:

@Third

It's not old news, and it's still relevant. Get over it.

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Favorite Answer

Damn straight it's relevant.

• Anonymous
    7 years ago

The taxpayers built the roads.

The fact is that you did build your business. I am sure that you had a great teacher along the way but he was in business himself and was compensated.

I worked as a Sanitation Manager for Hormel for about 13 years. Using Obama logic everyone who ate Spam in that time period and did not die still owes me.

But the fact is that George Hormel built the company. I was well compensated and I hope my contributions were profitable to them but the fact is I was there for the salary.

• 7 years ago

You seem to be having trouble understanding the basic concept here so let me help you.

"If you've got a business"

You own a business in the US.

"You didn't build that"

You can pay for things all you want, but no single person can conceivably build the structure that houses a business in a timely fashion, let alone all the infrastructure that supports it.

"Sombody else did [government] made that happen"

Governments have coordinated efforts to construct and maintain the infrastructure of our nation, both local and federal.

But it is people that actually did the work...and they deserve recognition and credit too.

• Derek
    Lv 6
    7 years ago

I am almost positive that producers and trade must exist before a government is even formed. Then, mass road systems that weren't deemed necessity and infrastructure is established though the collecting of taxes and things of that nature.