Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsRunning · 8 years ago

I have a question for all of you experienced long distance runners out there!?

I've recently upped my mileage from 6 miles per day, to between 9 and 12. I've been running for almost 5 years now, so it's something my body is rather conditioned for. I make it a point to consume (healthy sources of) protein, fats and sugar, to fuel my body and preserve/build my muscle. I also make sure that I stay hydrated, and that I take care of my muscles both before and after I run, to prevent damage. I make sure to include rest days when need be, and I also enjoy other forms of working out, especially cardio.

That being said, for those of you who run long distances rather frequently, is there anything else I should keep in mind/invest in? I know proper running form, and proper breathing, but is there anything you recommend to avoid injury, or complications with increasing my mileage?

*I am really only looking for responses from people who are very knowledgeable about the human body, and those who have much experience in distance running. Please and thank you!

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

That is a big difference going from 6 miles to 9 or 12 per day.

You should limit your long days to once or twice a week for a month or so, because even though you are conditioned to running 6 miles you are talking about increasing your average by 50% to 100% more each day.

It is very likely you will break down or have some nagging injury if you do this.

It is very important to cool down and stretch after running, and have protein within 2 hours.

A massage every week or two will also help you recover.

Your age is a big factor, when I was in my 30s and early 40s running 10 miles per day was no big deal, but now in my 60s it is a very big deal.

• Yeti
    Lv 7
    8 years ago

Mainly listen to your body for warning signs. You should know by now what's normal and what's not.