Can I major in Musical Theater with no experience?

I am currently about to go into my sophomore year of college and I am majoring in English. I really want to double major in MT, but at the particular school I'm transferring to, you have to audition AND submit a resume of past experience, a headshot, and a recommendation letter from someone who knows your acting pretty well.

I was planning on auditioning for Fall of 2013 (That's when I'm transferring from CC to University), and I was planning to take voice lessons and possibly acting lessons (not necessarily for this, it's something I wanted to do anyway but I realize it will help). So I'm just wondering, let's just say for a second I was an excellent actress and singer and aced that part of the audition. Would I still even be able to be considered if I don't have past experience and don't have a resume to present? And even if I started trying to be in different community productions, I don't know if it would be enough to build a resume, and I don't know if I'd have time because I work and go to school.

I'm willing to sacrifice as much time as I can to be able to pursue this, but I guess I just want to know if I'd even have a chance with no experience. Helpful answers are greatly appreciated, thanks!

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

They will definitely choose Trained and Experienced Actors/Actresses over Non-Experience/Trained Actors/Actresses to win any auditions to the school. Most Theater Arts schools are like that. They avoid having students who change their mind about acting or dropping out. Having experience and training indicates that the student is dedicated versus one who is still curious about acting. Take some acting and even voice lessons before auditioning. You will impress more people in that school like that and you will meet some really important people too.

Hope this helps, and Remember that dedication is the key!

• Anonymous
    8 years ago