What are the basic does and donts of owning a guitar?

I would just like to know because recently I found out the hard way of leaving a guitar in a hot car. I am a beginner guitar player, and no one really told me how to take care of it or what not to do with it, like leaving it in a hot car. I would just like to know what not do with a guitar so I dont end up having to spend more money to fix it againg, or buy a new one. By the way, its acoustic. So any help would be very appreciated.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Jethro
    Lv 4
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

1. Buy a case.

2. Buy a stand, if you want.

3. Clean it everytime after use.

4. If you aren't gonna use it for a long time (e.g 2 weeks), release tension from the strings (down tune it or take the strings off)

5. Keep it somewhere where it wont be exposed. Also, keep it in a dry room. You don't want rusty strings and frets.

Basically thats it.

• 8 years ago

1 i would reccomment a guitar stand and case. for the case, i would buy a guitar humidifier. it is only like 6 and it is tiny and works great. what it does, is, in the winter, you store your guitar in your guitar case, and put the humidifier filled with stilled water (i think it is stilled water) and you put the humidifier between the two middle strings (D and G). your guitar need humitity or some of the wood might start to crack. in the summer you sould store it on a stand because in the summer there is already so much humidity, and so it will be fine, ad easier to access on a stand.

2 dont leave it i a hot car, or a cold room. i mean, if you bring it places, you cant really controll the weather, and tht is fine, just dont store it in too hot or cold places. look at it like this. if you are in a room and it feels too hot or too cold, change it, if you can. but dont be all like "omg! this room is two degrees below my guitars needs!" lol. your guitar should be fine. just, it it is in extremes, that could be a problem