Martin asked in SportsBaseball · 7 years ago

As a Giants fan, is it bad that I hate the Pirates?

I'm pretty new to baseball and have latched onto the Giants after my cousin took me to a game when I visited him in SF. I've been following them die hard this season, especially on the interwebs because Giants baseball on Canadian television networks simply does not exist. A lot of bloggers and people who comment on Giants blog - specifically McCovey Chronicles - seem to like the Pirates and always say that should the Giants not make it, they will be cheering for the Pirates. Thing is, I kinda hate the Pirates right now since the Giants are 1st in the NL West and the Pirates are 2nd in Central and yet they have a better record than us. I know it's stupid, but I just felt like I should know this kinda stuff?

Update:

"I kinda hate the Pirates RIGHT NOW since the....."

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 7 years ago
    Best Answer

How can you hate on the Pittsburgh Pirates? Seriously? The Pittsburgh Pirates? They have sucked for the past 19 years.......they haven't had a WINNING SEASON since 1992. Just think.......a 25 year old Pirates fan would have NO MEMORY of a single winning season in his entire lifetime. Not playoffs.....a winning season.

No one should hate the Pirates. You can root against them because they might steal a playoff spot, but don't hate them. Hating the Pirates is like hating cute bunnies.......you are just a bad human if you do.

• 3 years ago