Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Is this a good PC configuration?

PC noob here,

wondering if this build would a) work (Making sure if all the parts are compatible) and b) be able to play the latest games. ie: Crysis 2, Civ V, L.A Noire, Alan Wake, etc.

Any help/tips/advice will be greatly appreciated

Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 1155 77W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4000 BX80637I53570K [CPU]

EVGA 01G-P3-1460-KR GeForce GTX 560 (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card [GPU]

ASUS P8H61-M LX PLUS (REV 3.0) LGA 1155 Intel H61 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS [Motherboard]

Western Digital RE4 WD5003ABYX 500GB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive [Hard Drive]

G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL [RAM]

CORSAIR Professional Series HX750 (CMPSU-750HX) 750W ATX12V 2.3 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS SILVER Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply [PSU]

RAIDMAX SMILODON Extreme Black ATX-612WEB 1.0mm SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Foldout MB Computer Case [Case]

--------------------------------------

So is it any good? Any improvements that would help it without drastically increasing the cost (Trying to stay at or under $1,000)

Also, I've read about SSD's and was wondering if it is really necessary or will I get by without it? Main reason for my hesitation is the price of SSD's drive with a decent amount of space.

Thanks

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Mark N
    Lv 7
    9 years ago
    Favorite Answer