Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Society & CultureReligion & Spirituality · 8 years ago

Sex Ed. Classes in high school?

Why is it that religious people are against teaching sex education but there also against abortion? In my school we had a class called health that taught about different sexual diseases and all kinds of birth control and how you use them etc. when I was a freshman I went to school in a small town (because my dad lives in one) and they didn't have a class like that. And now there is a lot more pregnant girls (compared to the size of the school) than there are at my current high school (I'm a senior). Nomatter what you say, those classes do make a difference

11 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

I 100% agree with you. My sister is a conservative Baptist and she is against teaching safe sex because it would allow the students to get involved in sex before marriage which in her belief system is a sin. Whether it really is a sin or not, who knows. The point is teenagers are horny and are going to have sex anyway. So would you rather have a generation of teen pregnant moms? Or a generation of people who practice safe consensual sex?

• Login to reply the answers
  • Not all are against sex education many feel the benefits of abstinence/ waiting should be placed more into these education talks, being they are young minded with hormones rushing and often make mistakes they regret. Not understanding feelings from wise choices.

I wouldn't group most religious people are against teaching sex education as much as teaching responsibility more in this area.

Even if some teachers wanted too--there are restrictions to their teaching morals --so it's like a tug of war

And a very important fact--I wouldn't say teenage pregnancy and early disease (or emotional factors ) is much less now and not a "Huge" "Huge" problem in today's world despite all the information we have out there