Becoming a Graphic/Web Designer without formal degree?

I am extremely interested in becoming a Web/Graphic Designer and have been looking at certificate programs for a structured program of learning. I have twenty-five years experience as a professional photographer, and a good deal of that experience was being an in-house corporate photographer for corporation communications. Freelance work has included other catagories such as: photojournalistic, portrait, fashion, editorial, still life, fine art, etc. I also have a two year associate degree from a top photographic school. I have a writing background, as I was always good in art growing up and later on English. I have had music reviews published and two years ago, I published my first novel which has received good reviews. So, I am an accomplished photographer and writer. I also have excelled in recent years in sales. My challenge will be that I am an older, but very youthful, and now I want to learn the field of Web/Graphic Design. I also want to mention that two jobs ago, I designed brochures for a drum company and they are still using these brochures ten years later. I am computer saavy and know my way around some basics of design and design programs. I am not someone fresh out of school, but an experienced, mature, creative professional who now wants to pour all his interest and passion into this new discipline and profession. I have looked at some online programs like Sessions.edu and a few others, but...One, I could do a program for about a year if it would make sense for me to invest the time. Two, I don't think I can swing any such online program financially, (and I would have to learn online exclusively due to my job hours restraints). I am a gifted photographer and I have proven to be gifted in writing. I have no doubt that with my artistic intuition, sense of design, understanding and abiltiy of conceptual art, would also transfer into the discipline of Web/Graphic Design. However, reality on what it i