What are my chances of getting into Duke University?

I would really love to go to Duke University because I heard that it has a really good medical program. The one thing that I'm not so sure of are my chances for getting in.

I'm an incoming Junior high school. I had a 3.4 GPA in sophmore year.

My classes were: AP European History (A), Latin (A), Spanish (A), Advanced Chemistry (C), Advanced Algebra 2 (C), Advanced English & Greek and Roman Epic Literature (A), and then other misc. electives were all A's or above. As you can see, math related subjects are my weak point.

I got a 3 on my AP European History test, which I am really disappointed in because I studied so hard for it.

Update:

I am also a current member of Duke TIP (Talent Identification Program)

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Julie
    Lv 4
    7 years ago
    Best Answer

Hello! I'm a freshman at Duke so hopefully I can help you out.

I am going to be really honest with you... it is going to be very difficult to get into Duke with a 3.4 GPA and a C on your transcript. They only accept 11% of the 30000 people who apply, and a large number of these people have near perfect GPAs and SAT scores.

Take higher level math classes in junior and senior year, and study hard to do well in them so you can show them that you can improve. You are going to need a perfect junior and senior year GPA to make up for the C's. What extracurriculars are you involved in? You will need an activity that shows your passion (whether sports, volunteering, debate, etc).

On the bright side: The AP exam isn't going to matter at all, its just for placement. Junior year is what matters most for colleges. Your SAT score, if high enough, can give you a chance.

Look into Duke more and see whether its a good fit for you, because going there just because you want to be a doctor isn't going to help you take the biggest advantages of your opportunities. Good luck!

• olympe
    Lv 4
    3 years ago

Chances Of Getting Into Duke