Studying, working in Ireland: pros, cons, personal experience?

I am American. The personal reasons why I would like to change that as soon as possible could fill a notebook, but I'll stick to what really matters here. My greatest goal in life is to study at Trinity College Dublin. I've been researching the particulars of moving to Europe for almost three years, so... show more I am American. The personal reasons why I would like to change that as soon as possible could fill a notebook, but I'll stick to what really matters here.
My greatest goal in life is to study at Trinity College Dublin. I've been researching the particulars of moving to Europe for almost three years, so don't assume I'm being hasty here: I am very serious and now I've come across a road bump and I need some honest opinions and unbiased information. I speak fluent textbook French (I've never actually been to a French-speaking country) and my area of academic interest is biochemistry. I surpass the admission requirements for Americans and the reason I would like to study in Europe as opposed to America is to get my foot in the door with European laboratories, particularly French and Swiss ones, as that seems to be where all the biochem jobs seem to be in Europe.

First, I'd like to know: What are your experiences with moving to another country, particularly from America? Did you face difficulty in finding a job that was greater than it was from where you came? Were you discriminated against in employment or renting/buying housing?

Second, which visa or residence permit did you choose? The more I research this crucial point, the more complicated it seems to get.

Third, and probably the most important: Under my circumstances, would you advise for or against studying at TCD? If you would advise against it, why, and in your opinion, should I study in America or elsewhere in Europe?