Is it possible to compromise without ruining my relationship, and is commuting from Bmore to Philly possible?

This is a two part question. One is a relationship oriented question and the other is a question about relocating/commuting. I just got accepted to grad school in Philly, and my fiancé just got a HUGE promotion and raise at work. We live in Baltimore, and that's where his job is. We were planning on moving to Philly before he got a raise, which is why I think they gave him the promotion because he's such a valued worker that they don't want to lose him. I've been living in Baltimore for seven years, 3 years before he got here. I really hate this city. The whole atmosphere and vibe of the city depresses me. I'm much more fond of DC and Philly, and so is he. He doesnt really like it here either. Me being an artist (I'm an actor and writer), I have always wanted to live in NYC, but we both agreed that NYC was a bit too expensive for us right now. So, we decided to stay on the East Coast (close to NYC) go to DC. That didn't work out when we found out that DC was almost as expensive as NYC. So, we decided to set our sights on Philly. I spent MONTHS planning for a move to Philly, I applied to graduate school there and got accepted. That's when his job offers him this promotion, with a HUGE almost unbelievable raise. I have the option to go to school online, but I'd much rather BE there. Plus, I really just want to move. Because I (and so does he) want to move, we can focus on DC again, because DC is much closer to Baltimore than it is to Philly. DC is still expensive though, and even though he's making more money now it still doesn't seem like it makes sense to LIVE in the more expensive place and work in the least expensive place. I really just want to move to Philly, and I'm thinking about going without him. I'm not used to not being able to get up and go when it's time for me to. I feel restricted and held back. Is there a compromise somewhere that I'm not see